Law Dividing Cavite Into 8 Legislative Districts Signed by President Duterte

The President, Rodrigo Roa Duterte, has finally signed a law reapportioning Cavite into 8 legislative districts, after it was approved by the Senate in March of this year.

Images via Twitter/

The bill which was authored by Representatives Luis Ferrer IV of the 6th district, Abraham Tolentino of the 7th District, and Roy Loyola of the 5th District sought to amend Section 1 of Republic Act 9727, which reorganized the province into 7 districts.

The law, which repeals RA 9727 signed by former president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, makes General Trias City into a legislative district on its own, as it has a  population of 314,303 as per the 2015 census.

Cities having a population of at least 250,000 are entitled to have at least one representative.

Meanwhile, the composition of the first five districts were left unchanged. Moreover, the incumbent representatives of the 6th and 7th legislative districts, as per the law, shall continue to represent their districts until new representatives are elected in the 2019 elections.

According to the Republic Act 11069 signed by the President on Friday, September. 14, the 8 legislative districts are as now as follows:

First District        –  Cavite City, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario
Second District   –  Bacoor City
Third District      –  Imus City
Fourth District   –  Dasmariñas City
Fifth District       –  Carmona, General Mariano Alvarez and Silang
Sixth District       –  General Trias City
Seventh District –  Trece Martires City, Indang, Tanza and Amadeo
Eighth District    –  Tagaytay City, Alfonso, General Aguinaldo, Magallanes, Maragondon, Mendez, Naic and Ternate


Source :

Rappler, Twitter