- Facebook Messenger to allow users to delete unintended messages
- The new feature was announced on the Apple website with the release of FB Messenger’s 191.0
- Some other messaging platforms already allows deleting unintended messages
Have you ever experienced sending a message to the wrong person or to a group chat? Or an embarrassing photo which your child accidentally sent to another individual?
Good news! Facebook will soon roll out a new feature which will allow Messenger users to delete unintended messages within a 10-minute time frame.
Facebook’s announcement via the Apple website reads, “Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
According to a PopSci article, the upcoming feature announcement came with the release of the 191.0 release of FB Messenger in the Apple App store.
The present feature allows a user to delete a message he sent but it is only deleted in the sender’s account and still remains untouched in the recipient.
A messaging application called WhatsApp, as per Mashable’s post, already allows its users to do the deletion — which is longer, at an hour; as per Mashable.
Google, too, has on its Gmail platform where users can unsend an email. This feature, however, takes place as Gmail holds the email in a queue for a time interval chosen (5,10,20,30 seconds), and it can’t be deleted after that.